Oreos in Jordan do not contain pork — JFDA

(Photo: Freepik)
AMMAN ­­— Oreos in the local market do not contain any pork fat and comply with Islamic halal requirements, according to Director of Food at the Jordan Food and Drug Administration (JFDA) Amjad Al-Rashaida, carried by Khaberni.اضافة اعلان

In a radio statement on local media outlet, Rashaida said that the Oreos Jordan imports are manufactured in Egypt and Bahrain. He noted that Oreos manufactured in Europe and the US are different from those manufactured in Arab countries and may not be halal.

This was in response to a video and posts circulating on social media stating that Oreos are not halal, citing the brand as the source of this information.

Jordan food standardsThis is not the first time the famous biscuits have sparked dispute in the Kingdom.

“A while ago, it was said that Oreos contain alcohol, and after examination, they were found to be alcohol-free,” Rashaida said.

He stated that all food products entering Jordan are carefully examined and conform to Jordanian food standards.

Read more National news
Jordan News