September 23 2023 8:21 AM E-paper Newsletter Subscribe Sign in My Account Sign out

FIBA schedules Asia Cup finals draw July 15

Jordan’s first-division basketball team celebrates qualifying for the Asia Cup finals. (Photo: FIBA)
Jordan’s first-division basketball team celebrates qualifying for the Asia Cup finals. (Photo: FIBA)
AMMAN — FIBA has slated Asia Cup finals draw for July 15, ahead of the Jakarta-hosted championship between August 17 and August 29.اضافة اعلان

Thirteen teams have officially booked their spots in the Asia Cup finals: Australia, China, Iran, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Lebanon, New Zealand, the Philippines, Syria and Bahrain.

China, Guam, India, Saudi Arabia and Palestine will be vying for the remaining places at the tournament between August 12 and August 14.

Meanwhile, President of the Jordan Basketball Federation (JBF) Mohamed Alayyan told Jordan News that the Philippines have confirmed they will be attending King Abdullah Cup, which has been scheduled between July 25 and August 3.

So far, five teams have RSVPD for the tournament, alongside Jordan, including Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and the Philippines.

“This championship holds a special place in the hearts of Jordanians as it carries the name of His Majesty King Abdullah. It will act as a pit stop to prepare and strengthen the national team (for the Asia Cup finals),” Alayyan added, expressing his excitement about the return of fans to the stands at the Prince Hamzah Hall, albeit at a 30 percent capacity.

The JBF is still in the process of handing out official invites to a number of teams and has already contacted Iceland, Portugal, Switzerland, Macedonia, Denmark, Belarus and Spain about attending.

The federation is awaiting responses from its counterparts in Morocco, Czech Republic, Russia, Germany, Serbia and Greece, noting that Cyprus and Angola have officially declined the tournament invite.

The King Abdullah Cup kicked off in 2002 and hosts five to nine teams every year. The event was suspended for two years following tis 2008 edition and again for nine years, after 2011.

Jordan and Lebanon share the largest number of Cup titles, with three, followed by Tunisia, Egypt and Saudi Arabia, with a single title each.

Read more Sports