Jordan bans travel from seven African countries due to new COVID variant

(Photo: Jordan News)
AMMAN - The Interior Ministry, based on a recommendation by the Health Ministry, decided to ban travel from seven African countries including South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Mozambique.اضافة اعلان

The decision came as a new variant identified as B.1.1.529 variant had already spread from South Africa and Botswana.

The decision stipulates that non Jordanians are banned from entering the Kingdom until after 14 days of their departure of the seven countries for other countries that do not have the new variant.

It also stipulates that Jordanians coming from the mentioned countries will be subject to 14-day institutional quarantine at their expense, regardless of their COVID-19 PCR test results.

Read More National News